FTC Disclosure: If you make a purchase through a link on this site, I may receive a small commission on the transaction. Clicking these links doesn't cost any more to you, and it does help me with my small business so I thank you so much for any support you want to give!

Are artificial meat flavorings vegan?

by Samantha
(Manassas, VA)


I love eating ramen, it's one of my favorite things to eat. And a lot of ramen has beef flavoring in it and I stay away from those. But I also see some that say ARTIFICIAL beef flavoring. So what I was wondering was, even though it says artificial does artificial beef still have beef or some form of meat in it?


This is an interesting question that I never stopped to think about... are artificial meat flavorings vegan?

I did a little research and unfortunately, it seems you are out of luck. Those artificial meat flavorings do have meat in them, or at least a meat by-product. Also, sometimes those noodles are actually egg noodles. Additionally, they're packed with synthetic flavorings, colors, and chemicals.

There is some hope for you to be able to have that food you love and do better on health though. If you love those ramen noodles, I'd definitely recommend checking out an international food market. They often have tons of different types of rice and bean noodles that I love. You can sometimes even find vegan meat flavorings, and they will be labeled as such. With those flavorings and the noodles, it's pretty easy to put together your own ramen noodles.

You might also like to try adding those noodles to some miso broth, which can be super healthy for you if you use a brand that is made of just miso paste.

Hope that helps! Good luck!

Comments for Are artificial meat flavorings vegan?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Ramen substitute
by: Anne

We get the dried noodles found in the Asian section of our regular grocery store (rice noodles, etc), with no egg (vegan and allergic to egg) and use a vegetable boullion base. It tastes better to us now than the ramen noodles tasted, and know what you mean about enjoying them. Now the ramen noodles seem to have an odd metallic aftertaste.

Ramen Noodles
by: Barb

If your not too concerned with the health aspect and just want to enjoy some ramen every once in a while the soy sauce (used to be Oriental flavor, blue package) is vegan. It has to be the Top Ramen brand though!

It's relative.
by: CMaxo

The first thing you got to check is the ingredients list because the artificial mark might only means the amount made of "real" meat is variable. (For example, there might be X mg of actual dried meat in Y grams of seasonings.)
If there are "real" meat, it will be written "Artificial & Natural flavor" in the ingredients list. If it's only written "Artificial Flavor", it means no real meat was used and the powder mostly only have salt, some dried vegetables (such as onion as they push the flavor further) and some chemical proteins that were made out of oils such as palm oil, some nuts' oil and even yeast. (Kinda like perfumes that smell like fruits, yet doesn't have any fruits in any step of their preparation. Months of researches around fake taste that taste good.)
99.99% of the Instant Ramen doesn't have any eggs in their noodles. Instead, they usually use Palm Oil. (It's cheaper to make that way)

udon noodle's are great replacement for ramen
by: Anonymous

something i enjoy eating that takes place of the ramen noodle type food is the annie chang's udon noodles, there are a few varieties that are vegan.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Your Vegan Questions.

Follow Me on Pinterest

FREE Vegan Ezine! 2011 Subscribe to
Vegan Bytes
and get a FREE 5-page guide to weight loss!

Email Address
First Name

Your email address is completely secure. I will only use it to send our newsletter.

Site Reviews   |   Advertising Policy   |   Privacy Policy   |   Meet Me   |   Search this Site   |   Site Map

by Cathleen Woods   |   © Copyright 2008-2021  |   Vegan-Nutritionista.com

Disclaimer: Everything in this website is based upon information collected by Cathleen Woods, from a variety of sources. It is my opinion and is not intended as medical advice. We do not sell personal information.
It is recommended that you consult with a qualified health care professional before making a diet change.

As an Amazon Affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases.